A New Frontier - International Contemporary Ensemble

Thursday, July 25, 2013 7:30PM
Rockport Opera House

<b> A New Frontier - International Contemporary Ensemble</b>
Tickets Not On Sale

This special concert juxtiposes music by Bach with new music and marks the World Premier of a Bay Chamber Concerts commission, THE HUBBLE CANTATA, a spectacular contemporary cantata composed by Paola Prestini for spoprano Jessica Rivera and the renowned International Contemporary Ensemble (ICE). The mulit-media piece is inspired by newly released Hubble telescope images and is a collaboration with librettist Royce Vavrek, filmmaker Carmen Kordas and the astrophysicist, Dr. Mario Livia of the Space Telescope Science Institute

J.S. Bach/arr. Greenberg - Kyrie, Gott Vater in Ewigkeit, BWV 672, for solo piano
Igor Stravinsky - Pour Pablo Picasso, for solo clarinet
J.S. Bach - Invention No. 1, BWV 772, for flute and clarinet
Giancinto Scelsi - Kho-Lo, for flute and clarinet
J.S. Bach/arr. Lippel - Gigue from Cello Suite No. 1 in G major, for solo guitar
Elliot Carter - Shard
J.S. Bach - Three-Part Sinfonia No. 11, BWV 797, for clarinet, guitar, and bassoon
Kaija Saariaho - Tocar for violin and piano
John Cage - Freeman Etudes, for solo violin
J.S. Bach/ arr. Sciarrino - Toccata and Fugue in D minor, BWV 565, for solo flute
J.S.Bach/ arr. Greenberg - Largo from Trio Sonata No. 2 in C minor, BWV 526,for flute, clarinet, violin, guitar, and percussion
Paola Prestini - THE HUBBLE CANTATA World Premier